ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY 15TH MAY 2024

(as part of the Annual General Meeting)

Minutes of the meeting of the **ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE** held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, School Aycliffe Lane, Newton Aycliffe on Wednesday 15th May 2024.

PRESENT

Councillors Eddy Adam, Martin Ashcroft, Lindsey Aston, Dorothy Bowman, Arun M. Chandran, John Clark, Neil Collinson, George Gray, Ian Gray, Brian Haigh, Andy Hill, Jed Hillary, Wendy Hillary, Joanne Jones, Neville Jones, Sandra Kirby, Brian McAnaney, John Moore, Carl Robinson, Ken Robson, Michael Stead, Anne Woodward and John Woodward.

IN ATTENDANCE

Councillors Jim Atkinson and Simon Hocking Four members of the public.

OFFICIALS

Mr. D. Austin (Town Clerk)

Mrs. T. Woodhead (Finance Manager)

Mrs. S. Stretch (Senior Administrative Officer)
Miss. A. Donald (Corporate and Policy Officer)

1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor Eddy Adam and seconded by Councillor Carl Robinson, that Councillor Ian Gray be nominated as Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2024/25

RESOLVED – that Councillor Ian Gray be appointed Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

Councillor Ian Gray took the Chair for the meeting.

2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor Lindsey Aston and seconded by Councillor Michael Stead, that Councillor John Woodward be nominated as Vice-Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

RESOLVED – that Councillor John Woodward be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2024/24.

3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Tony Armstrong, Peter Bergg, Sandra Haigh, Phillip Hawkins.

4. MEMBERS' DISPENSATIONS

There had been no applications for dispensations.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

6. APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS

The Environment Committee considered the appointment of members to the following Sub-Committees:

(a) Planning Sub Committee

It was proposed by Councillor Arun M. Chandran and seconded by Councillor Eddy Adam and

RESOLVED – as follows:

(a) Planning Sub-Committee

- (i) That a Planning Sub-Committee be appointed for the Municipal Year 2024/25.
- (ii) That the Planning Sub-Committee comprise of 8 members plus the Mayor and Deputy Mayor as ex-officio members.
- (iii) That the membership be:

Councillors Arun M. Chandran, John Clark, Neil Collinson, Ian Gray, Brian Haigh, Joanne Jones, Brian McAnaney, Carl Robinson, Anne Woodward and John Woodward.

(iv) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Planning Sub-Committee for the Municipal Year 2024/25 be appointed at its first meeting.

CHAIRMAN.